States of sets
Notifications appear in the PMTs to indicate the status of the modified preferences:
no notification (no account created, preferences locally saved)
Before creating an account a user can try out modifying preferences using the PMT. These modifications are automatically locally saved to the current device only. In order for the user to apply the preferences to other devices they must create an account. Creating an account saves the preferences to the cloud. A user can not create an account without modifying preferences.
set modified (preferences locally saved)
After a set has been saved to the cloud, any preference tweaks result in a modified set. These modifications are locally saved (only available in the current device), but in order to apply them to other devices a user must actively save to cloud. “Set modified” indicates to the user that they are now working with a modified (and locally-saved-only) set.
set saved (preferences cloud saved) or set applied
“Set saved” indicates that the preference adjustments in the set are applied to all devices/contexts using the current set. “Set applied” indicates that the current device is now using a cloud preference set, and any modifications saved to the cloud from the device would be applied to other devices/contexts using the same set.
In the PCPs the user can only modify preferences on the current device, while the PMTs also allow the user to modify preferences on all devices.
A user can cloud-save changes made in the PCP
on current device
In either type of tool, modifying a set applied to the current device automatically saves the modifications to the current device. If a user were to use the device at a later session the same modifications would persist. However, if the user were to use another device with the same set - the modifications would not be available unless the user saves to cloud.
on other devices
Modifying preference sets on other devices is only possible through the PMTs. Since the set is not applied to the current device, the preferences are not device saved. A user must save any modifications if they wish to apply their changes to other devices. Upon exiting the PMTs, the user is asked if they wish to save. If they do not, their changes will be undone.